Thread: Hello, I'm new (sort of)

Default Hello, I'm new (sort of)

I hope I didn't post one of these 'way back when I first got a log-on. If I did, I apologize.

Hi, I'm Lyn, I'm an author, and I'm fascinated with world-building. This, in turn, led me to be fascinated with maps, because many fantasy/sci-fi/post-apoc worlds have a different geography than The World We Live In...

And here I am. I'm an absolute novice at map-making and I'm working on paper because drawing with a mouse drives me bonkers. I'm currently in-progress on mapping for on fictional world with three others on the back burner.

Hi!

Welcome Lyn! I don't think anyone's going to mind if you did post one way back then.

Looking forward to seeing some of your maps!

By the way, if you really do want to draw maps digitally you should pick up a drawing tablet (drawing with a mouse drives everyone crazy I'm pretty sure).

I offer map commissions for RPG's, world-building, and books
    PORFOLIO | INSTAGRAM

I think it'll depend on how immersive this hobby ends up being for me. Right now, I don't want to spend $ on something I'm just dabbling in, so I'll stick to paper and pencil.

(Although the ability to make changes without tracing a whole new map is very very tempting...)

Oh yes, I totally understand. I was just letting you know that there is better options than a mouse for drawing digitally. I think most people start out with good'ol pen and paper, and there's nothing wrong with it. Some people still only do them with pen and paper, which is pretty cool.

PORFOLIO | INSTAGRAM

Community Leader Facebook Connected tilt's Avatar
    Blog Entries