Thread: lost in thought

Default lost in thought

i have an idea for a large city, but i can not for the life of me think of the different things that should be in it. the city is a utopia kinda in an fantasy setting, and while i know the general layout of the city there are things that i am missing and i think of what they are. i have the city government buildings, houses, inns, taverns, a temple (though i might get rid of it for the sake of order in the city), restaurants, bakeries and other food shops, general goods stores, magic item shops and a wood mill (that the citizens use to build things in their craft). i know that there should be other things for a large city but i can't think of any. any help would be very helpful. just so everyone who is reading this knows i am still new to making maps especially city maps.

Guild Expert Facebook Connected Tonnichiwa's Avatar

Sounds like the town needs a blacksmith, if there is a river going through the town, maybe a ferry boat navigator's cottage, horse stables, a library, and if it is a fantasy city you might need some wizards towers, maybe a port dock, you might even need some aerial port towers to accommodate flying ships. You may need grain storage houses, a graveyard with a mausoleum. Some guild houses, possibly some prominent family residences.

Maybe this list might be of some help?

The key to all of this is understanding why your city is there, how big it is, and how long i's been there. Everything else will sort of flow from that.

Why is the city there? The relative abundance of things you find in the city will be different for a trade-based city as compared to a resource-based city.