Thread: Hello folks, new member here!

Default Hello folks, new member here!

Hey!

So I am a quite young artist all the way from southern Finland. I am deeply interested in history, especially the period of the Roman Empire and the empires of the Mayas and Aztecs. I found it very interesting following the legions of Rome on the maps of the world and very helpful for picturing, for example, the movement of armies. And since I write a lot, I wanted to illustrate the environment I used by maps. Naturally, I interested of making them, my goal being some day to draw awesome digital maps. I have been working with a fantasy world for a year or so, not only with the mapping but with empires, kingdoms, cultures, religions etc. belonging to it. My point of interest of this moment is Sumujenmeren saaret, the rough translation being "Islands on the Sea of Fogs" or shorted to "Fog Islands". They locate in the vast ocean, a long distance away from any mainland. I have sketches of the map I have been designing for the archipelago and I am just starting to unite them into a one, complete map of the area. I have used many different styles during my time with maps, and I don't have a certain favourite at the moment. Found this place purely by accidents while browsing through Pinterest, and interested immediately. I am looking forward to getting know this forum and posting my future maps here! I am just an amateur with drawing softwares, so I would be very grateful for pieces of advice of what kind of software might be useful. At the moment I have Krita and GIMP(just learning to use it). See you all in the future!

Hello Flow!

Welcome to the Guild