Thread: Can I use an animated brush with GIMPressionist to make a forest?

Default Can I use an animated brush with GIMPressionist to make a forest?

So I have loved GIMP for many years now, though I'm by no means an expert, and one of my friends is very into creating his own fantasy continent, and I volunteered to help turn his hand drawings into cool looking maps! I've had a lot of fun learning new techniques through the tutorials here, and I have a question about a different application of one of them in general.

Here's the tutorial in question: https://www.cartographersguild.com/a...2&d=1461335828

Basically, it goes through how to make animated brushes for mountains/trees, and then use these to paint the features onto a map for a nice effect. I know GIMPressionist can be used to brush entire regions, so I was thinking that since forests tend to be more blobby and less linear (unlike mountains), it would be nice to be able to have GIMPressionist brush over an entire region with a custom animated tree brush. I could get more randomness with size, for example, and not have to do it by hand (though I'm sure it wouldn't take too long, it's more of curiosity on my part). However, GIMPressionist brushes seem to have a different style of file, and I can't tell if they can use any sort of animated brush at all.

Any suggestions either for how to create an animated GIMPressionist brush, or another tool GIMP has that would help me brush over an entire region with a set of brushes? I guess I could just make some splotchy noise, make a selection from that, path the selection, and as long as the path is dense enough in the region I could brush the path. Any other ideas?

I don't know anything about GIMPressionist, but I've made a perfectly good animated forest brush in GIMP.

Instead of me rabbiting on for ages about how I did it, this video explains it a lot better than I can.