Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hi

Default Hi

I like fantasy & impressionist maps. I've been seeing some good ones here so far, and looking forward to seeing some more. Cheers,

Welcome properly, swiss

I'm glad you've found our little corner of the web. You're definitely in the right place for fantasy maps. Have a browse through the Cartographers Choice area if you haven't already. There's some amazing work there.
    "We are the music makers, and we are the dreamers of dreams"

Hi Swiss!

Welcome on board

I'm very curious to know what you mean by impressionist maps, since its a term that I normally associate more with paintings (I'm a landscape painter as well as a cartographer). Do you perhaps mean painted or hand drawn maps?

Good question. I may be using the term wrong, but what I meant was almost surreal looking maps. Very non-literal. Somewhat cartoony-look. Usually incorporating clouds into the design. I was looking for an example in the albums but nothing jumped out at me

Hey, while I have you, can I ask you a question? What's the difference between these two albums below? Finished thumbs I assume is all the finished products. Is the 1st album that plus all the drafts? Is there overlap between the two?

https://www.cartographersguild.com/albumall.php

https://www.cartographersguild.com/finished_thumbs.php

Blog Entries

I think Finished thumbs are a gallery of all of the maps in the Finished section of the forum. Usually you place the finished map as the first post in a thread. Work in Progress is known as WIP's and these threads are scattered about the forum where people are building a map and havent finsihed it yet. Normally the WIP threads are very long with comments about suggestions to improve it and general discussion, the finished thread is one post plus lots of people commenting how much they like it.