Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Mar-May '22 Lite Challenge: Phylakas Kataigithas

Wip Mar-May '22 Lite Challenge: Phylakas Kataigithas

Hi, it's my first time participating in a challenge.

This is Phylakas Kataigithas, an island situated in the Mediterranean Sea, an the eastern exit of the Sea of Alborán (N 36º 34' W 1º 22').

Place.PNG

It hosted a Greek colony from the year 575 B.C. and it was posteriorly invaded by Carthaginians and Romans in the Punic Wars.

It remained under control of the Bizantyne Empire as an important naval base after the Fall of the Western Roman Empire in 476.

In 711 it was occupied by the muslims, and was set as a base for piracy in the Mediterranean Sea.

It was reconquered by the Castellans in 1493, ending this way the Spanish Reconquest. America would be discovered a year later, in 1494. In that year begun the Modern Age and ended the Medieval Age. It would be the main naval base in the Mediterranean of the Castellan Crown.

In 1590 was initiated the fortification of the island. The arabian buildings were demolished and begun the construction of a group of forts to defend the main port.

In the XVII century the fortifying effort continued high around the island, and it remained an important port in the middle of the Mediterranean.

Now, in the XIX century, Philakas is an unsinkable vessel in the entrance of the Mediterranean Sea. It remains as Spanish domain and has been able to sink one or two vessels from the English Navy passing by after the Battle of Trafalgar.

Also, two towers of the optic telegraph were installed on both ends of the island 20 years ago, to communicate with the capital at Madrid and to speed up communications with the castles at Oran and Melilla. These two towers are part of the line Oran-Almería, and the Southern tower is one of the greatest engineering proyects in the last 20 years. It's signal can be seen from 88 km away!

TelOpAlme-Oran.PNG