Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: December 2015 Annual Challenge: The Lands of Crecia

Default December 2015 Annual Challenge: The Lands of Crecia

Alright, here's the thread for my entry. It's for a world I've been working on for several years with lore and stuff like that, but I never held onto a map for more than a couple months, and actually one of my previous versions is on this site. But since there's an annual mapping challenge, I figured it would be good to finally settle on a map and might as well make one for this as well.

### Latest WIP ###
    104kksl.jpg

The world is ~the size of Afro-Eurasia, and has 10 species, and I made a Reddit thread a while back going over them a bit. This particular map is finished in my eyes, but it's kind of the layout for my actual challenge map, which is ambitious, but just crazy enough it just might work. This map is more for cities and regions to sort things out in my mind. The colors of the borders represent which species predominantly occupies the area, and the color of the lines correspond with the species color on the border. The Ch-chari are the only real outlier, they are an insect species and live in hives underground and in mountains. On the map they are represented by the blue dots, and the blue names are those of huge hives.

My actual entry will be more painted and mural-y, something that would exist in world. But it would be from the perspective of 'Dagon', a city in about the center of the map surrounded by desert. So everything else would be around that, so if you were standing at that point, everything would look right, nothing would be upside down. So if you look south, it would still be facing you. If that makes sense. And I'm going to try and incorporate lore into the map and stuff like that, and of course not adding all of the cities and stuff that's on this one.