Thread: Hello Fellow Cartographers!

quirky_cartographer

Info Hello Fellow Cartographers!

Hello everyone. I'm very new to cartography and thanks to the pandemic I kind of stumbled upon it. Well that and running a custom D&D 5E campaign and also finishing a Starfinder adventure and continuing it on into a custom game. I needed to make maps and it lead me to finding out I kind of enjoy it due to the creativity of it! I've always loved looking at maps which were well created. So thanks to the pandemic and my love of RPGs I ended up falling into this as a hobby I'm enjoying.

I use CC3+ and the add-ons. I know there is a ton of stuff out there but it happened to be the one I fell into without researching things a ton. It's a big learning curve for me especially since my day job is dealing with people's mental health. It's a big transition, but one I like and despite the big learning curve I'm enjoying what I can do with the software so far. Looking into another product or two as well to be able to create even more styles (fantasy, sci-fi, and maybe some modern mapping in the form of sci-fi/fantasy in order to sell for a little side hustle) and I'm sure I'll find a lot of information here on other programs. ProFantasy is also how I found out about here when I was exploring their page. Really glad I am curious and clicked around on their site.

Looking forward to sharing my maps in the future (I want to get a little better first) and getting to meet fellow cartographers. Be well all and I hope to learn and share any knowledge I may have as well. Maybe a trade: map knowledge for mental health knowledge? lol J/k Ethically, I can't do that. But I am looking forward to a knowledge exchange in order to help enhance my skills as a cartographer and also to find a place I can really connect with other like-minded people. Open to bartering, mentors, and friends!