Thread: The World of Aleria

Default The World of Aleria

AleriaWeltkarteSMALL.png

The World of Aleria is a fantasy-world of mine and this actually is the first complete map of it.
    I didn't add any names yet, because only three islands of it actually have planned out cities etc. I just recently decided to enlarge the whole world,
    which is why most of it is basically uninhabited wildland right now.

For a bigger version see: http://tekila-onrice.deviantart.com/...eria-664924054

For a more detailed map of the three already planned Islands see: http://http://tekila-onrice.devianta...ands-646156809

That's a very attractive composition, and some nice texture going on there, Tekila

Some very interesting land shapes, though I can't quite work out what kind of projection you are using.... or is this a flat world?

I'm guilty of being an absolute noob in terms of maps and that I didn't really know about the whole projection-thing until I joined here (meaning an hour ago roughly).
    So...yeah... I can't answer that because there is no answer. Don't judge, please. That is why I came here

lol Don't worry about things like that. honestly, quite a few people around here don't take those technical thingies like projection, tectonics, climates, airflow and MANY other tech/crunchy bits that CAN go into making maps too seriously. Having an understanding of these thing CAN make a map more believable to those that are of that mind set, and make them more "realistic", but it is by no means necessary. If you are here long enough, and post WIPs enough I am quite sure that you will pick up what understanding you need, to what ever depth you are willing to brave .

As for you map, I have to agree with Mouse about the textures and shapes, and I love the palette you are using. What program are you using?