Thread: The Continent of Natis

Map The Continent of Natis

new_natis2_04.jpg
    Created in: Photoshop

This is my first map. I made it for a book and a world I'm working on right now. I've worked on this map for months, putting on final touches, changing fonts, things like that... Right now I consider it finished. I might later refresh it to fit different historical eras, but that's a matter for later.

I used StarRaven's brushes for city/town icons, forests and mountains.

As I'm new to the guild, I would welcome any critique/suggestions.

SuperGalaxy

Hi SuperGalaxy, welcome to the Guild and congrats on your first map! I really like the colours you've chosen, and they're very striking. (I've got a fondness for dark seas. I think they look great!)

I see some issues with your rivers. They mostly look fine but you have them breaking up nearer the coast. Were you going for deltas? My feeling is that they seem to split relatively far inland for that. There are others far more knowledgable about this than me though, so hopefully someone else will give you better advice.

Purely on a personal taste level, I'm not sure if the texture is just a tad overdone on the land areas. I do like the effect, but I'd have reduced the opacity just a little to dial it back somewhat in those areas.

Overall, it's a great first map. Have some rep!
    "We are the music makers, and we are the dreamers of dreams"

I can only agree with ChickPea.

Great colour choice. Nice layout. Pretty landshapes. Good choice and usage of brushes.

All in all, a great first map...

... but the texture is a little too heavy.

Last edited by Freodin; 06-08-2015 at 10:59 AM.

Thank you for all of your kind words, I noted everything you've said and look forward to presenting what I might come up with in the future.