Thread: World in progress

Default World in progress

Hi there!

my english is a little piece of crap, excuses for my misspells
    I'm a novice writer who's world building for fantasy novel. One of the things I'm working on is the world map and, nowadays, I’ll have a few questions:

1. I created two maps form the same base ¿witch one is the most beliable?

For the map idea I took a picture of and hypothetical terraformation of Venus, and modified a little bit (with paint, don't blame me:c).

original one:

editable.jpg

First idea:

first.png

Second one:

WIP MAPA.png

¿Wich one looks better?, and ¿Wich one looks more beliable?

2. The "Underdark"

One of the strongest general concepts of my novel is the Abyss. The Abyss is an continent-sieze subterranean, with her own ecosistem, dangers, etc. The basic concept is something like the Underdark of forgotten Realms (At least the three levels: Level 1, the less deep, less danger - Level 2, the middle deep and the middle danger - Level three, the deppest and dangerous). I want to do a map of the Abys, something like the next picture, but don't even know how to start:
    underdark.png
    (From: http://prints.mikeschley.com/)

I'll have a loot more of questions about the cartography of the map (Topografy, climate, political borders etc) but I don't want to overextend the post. Btw, i'm want to use CC3 to build the map with this mapping style

Thanks very much!

Hello again LazarusKelevra

I see that you have been very busy. I am not an expert on maps, so please do not make your choice on my preference, but I prefer the map you call "second one"

You have chosen one of the most elegant CC3 styles to draw your map with. I would be glad to answer any general questions you may have about how to do things, and I am sure that there are also people here on this forum who can help you with anything more complicated.