Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How do i get away from using straight lines?

Guild Apprentice

Question How do i get away from using straight lines?

Hello, i'm new to mapping and am rather, artistically challenged when it comes to most things. I find one of my main issues is the fact that i like straight lines, boxes, things that can be measured easily and precisely. When it comes to mapping however how lands form and whatnot there are no straight lines, or at least minimal amount of straight lines. As a result i am here to ask how do i get away from trying to use straight lines for everything? How do i make those wandering rivers and rough coastlines that make the maps here look true to real world physics and geography. Thank you in advance to anybody who can answer my question.

Guild Expert Guild Supporter Greg's Avatar

I guess as with anything, it's something that comes with practice and even after 3/4 of a year of mapping now, I still sometimes think to myself about my own coastlines "that looks too boxy," "that doesn't look natural" or whatever.

A couple of tips could be just to look at what other people do especially in maps you admire to see if that helps. Otherwise, I remember a one tip I read when I first started out which I sometimes found useful. One to try out for coastlines is to close your eyes and draw a line between two relatively close points and chances are you'll get a more natural jagged line, then just repeart (obviously do in pencil first if on paper ). It doesn't always work, but can help at first.

Just by studying the work of others and looking at real images of coastlines is really the best way I've found though.

It's about getting that balance between precise control and letting things flow. Just try out different things on little practice sheets until it looks fine.

A bit generic maybe, but I hope that helps.