Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: The Ancient and Revered, and Hastily Named, City of Birchburgateton

Default The Ancient and Revered, and Hastily Named, City of Birchburgateton

Hello all. This is my first attempt at making a map. It's for a goofy fantasy story I've written, and has recently introduced me to the joys of cartography! I used Inkscape to build it. What can I do to improve it? Thanks for your suggestions. Embellished Birchburgateton Map.pngEmbellished Birchburgateton Map.svg

Administrator Facebook Connected Diamond's Avatar

Hey Ray, welcome to the Guild! I like that map quite a bit - the names are fantastic. I think my one suggestion for now is to tone down the parchment pattern - the bumps and shadows are distracting when trying to focus on details.

I have to agree with Diamond that the parchment is a teeny bit overwhelming. Have a google around for parchment images. There are tons out there, and quite a number here at the Guild too (Barek has some in this thread, to name one off the top of my head).

The other thing to aim for is consistency with your line art. Two points to consider...

1. You have some illustrations that are sharp and clear, and your text is crisp and clear too. Most of your buildings and roads, on the other hand, look a bit blurred in contrast. The crispness of some elements only makes others look fuzzy in comparison. I love the look of the little buildings, but there's a clash between the crispness and the softer linework.

2. Would it be possible to bring a little more consistency to the thickness of your lines? I'm not sure if you've made some of the icons, or downloaded them. Right now, between the various colours and line thickness, everything looks a little disparate. The more consistency you can bring to the various elements, the more they will look like they belong together, and your map will be better for it.