Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Twin Planet Scenario

Default Twin Planet Scenario

Ok. I've been toying with this for about 5 years now, and I still don't know if the situation is feasible.

I'd like to know what you think.

Ethran and Errispa are twin worlds. Ethran is fractionally smaller than Errispa, and is tidally locked on Errispa (Errispa is not tidally locked to anything). Both worlds orbit their star(s) as one planet, but spinning around each other on an axis that is somewhere in the space between them.

Here is a purely arty view of the way I imagine Ethran would look from somewhere in space near Errispa's horizon:

MAP OF ETHRAN (low res).JPG

And here are the questions I simply can't answer, because I'm not an astrophysicist. I'm not even a mathematician. But I do need to know how ridiculous this setup really is before I finish the first book

1. How close would 2 approximately Earth sized planets be able to orbit one another without eventually colliding or throwing one or both of them out of orbit? (I'm looking for as close as possible here)

2. Would the heat generated by the gravitational egg-shape distortion of the tidally locked Ethran be sufficient to prevent the deep freeze you would normally expect in the permanent eclipse zone? (I have assumed in the image above that there would be a vast amount of volcanic activity there, and that the surface and atmosphere would be warm enough for water and life, but I really don't know if this is possible)

3. Would Ethran's atmosphere bulge and the pressure be relatively high on the face locked to Errispa, and would it be drawn away by the slightly larger Errispa very slowly over time? (not necessarily to Errispa, but just torn away and wasted into space as a result of the proximity of the two worlds)