Thread: Volcanoes and Cold

Question Volcanoes and Cold

I have a simple inquiry which I hope someone can assist me with.

If a volcano was active in the sense of the area around it had steam vents and the water was warmed on say, an island, would it be possible for the island to have a temperate or tropical climate in a latitude akin to say Canada?

An island like Iceland? As an amusing consideration, Ireland (not Iceland) and Moscow are at about the same latitude. The nice greenery in Ireland is due to a big and warm current (the Gulf Stream) that wanders by on its way to die in the waters off Norway. Of course, Iceland also benefits from that same current, but folks often think of its abundance of volcanic activity.
    Last edited by waldronate; 10-25-2017 at 12:32 AM.

I'm no expert by any stretch of the imagination, but I would think that if the volcano is active, that means the ground would tend to stay warm, due to the molten lava underneath the surface that radiates heat. Now depending on how close to the surface that lava is, I would believe it would keep the island warm enough (or the waters surrounding it) to support a temperate or tropical climate.

Of course, this is just my thoughts. I have no idea if I'm correct, but it seems to make sense.
    Like a thief in the night
    she comes with no form
    yet tranquility proceeds
    the accursed storm...

check out my new Deviant Art page!
    https://www.deviantart.com/ladiestorm

I don't think so. Iceland is very active for instance and they have a winter and their weather is modified more by the aforementioned gulf stream than by any ground activity. Same thing with areas that wander North and South in the Ring of Fire, the weather there is mostly unaffected by tectonic or volcanic activity. (when the weather is affected it tends to be because of giant ash plumes)

So then having a warm current flow northwards along with said volcanic activity should in theory keep it the desired temperature?