Thread: Uh, hi.

Post Uh, hi.

As the title implies, introducing myself is way out of my comfort zone, but here goes.

[stares at screen for 15 minutes]

First of all, I'm a programmer, not an artist, so designing maps is very difficult for me. I'll work on a map for 20 minutes to an hour and then throw the whole thing out.

This is very inconvenient because I'm working on two stories that I need to make maps for.

AMA
    WW82

Welcome WW82, you'll find many very good tutorials here to better your mapping skills

Hi WW82, and welcome. We're a friendly bunch, so I hope you'll feel comfortable enough to join in the discussions. I'd second Thomas's advice to head for the Tutorials area of the forum and try a couple (I'm assuming you're going for digital mapping, rather than hand-drawn). Just following through the steps of tutorial and producing a complete map at the end is a big boost to confidence levels, and you don't have to share it if you don't want to. You'll learn several techniques along the way that you can take further with your own maps.

If you need help with something specific, feel free to start a thread and ask some questions.
    "We are the music makers, and we are the dreamers of dreams"

Default Thanks!

Thank you for the encouragement and warm welcome. Unfortunately, my issue has less to do with technical know-how, and more to do with crushing self-doubt and low tolerance for frustration. Maybe watching some Youtubes about architectural design will help.