Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New girl here. I'm Soraya!

Guild Apprentice

Map New girl here. I'm Soraya!

Hello wonderful Cartographer's Guild!
    My name's Soraya. It's lovely to meet you all. I'm a fantasy writer and I make maps. The second is a more recent development. I've been working on multiple manuscripts for several years now and only just got serious about cartography. I've always been artistic and I would hand-draw maps for my own projects, but I wanted to take it to the next level. With my photoshop experience from a graphic design class, I've thrown myself into the deep end of creating maps.

My Twitter friends love my work, but let's face it, they're writers and I love them to death, but they're not cartographers. I'm hoping to post a couple examples here, so the pros and more experienced artists can give me any tips or critique.

Please drop in and say Hi! Or look me up on Twitter @sorayacorcoran

I attached my latest map. It's for one of my own novels. Let me know what you guys think and if I can improve on anything at all. Thanks!

Valen Antique.jpg

Ssssssshhhhhhh... I am going to tell you a secret... Your friends are right to love your work. That's a nice looking bit of work you posted there.

Oh, and welcome to the Guild.

GW
    GW

One's worth is not measured by stature, alone. By heart and honor is One's true value weighed.

Current Non-challenge WIP : Beyond Sosnasib
    Current Lite Challenge WIP : None
    Current Main Challenge WIP : None
    Completed Maps : Various Challenges

Hi Soraya! Welcome to the guild!

Your map looks really really great! If this is just the beginning of your mapmaking, I think you have a great future ahead.