Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Map Dimensions?

Question Map Dimensions?

Hi, I'm new to the cartographers guild and had a question. I was wondering what image dimensions or ratio of length to width would be the most appropriate when planning to create a world map? I'm Game Master for an upcoming pathfinder campaign me and my friends have started (never GM'd before....) and would like to create a world map for my campaign world but i'm not even sure how to begin, like what image dimensions would i even use for a map.

I've used gimp fairly extensively in the past so that's my program of choice, although mostly for simple things like parallax mapping in RPG maker.

I plan on browsing the tutorials when I have additional time, also any other tips would be greatly appreciated.

I apologize if my question is silly or confusing in some way, but i am by no means an artist OR cartographer. After being directed to this site though, I might be looking to change that....

Equidirectangular projection (2 wide by 1 tall) is the easiest to deal with. You can project it easily onto a globe etc. And it is easy to conceive of how it works. However it also ends up with huge distortion at the poles so if you want to map those areas in detail too you might want to put them into separate insets.

I expected a good bit of distortion on the main world map and thus plan to individually map the continents separately as well.

Thanks for your reply.
    Last edited by Squessibionaro; 09-12-2018 at 03:34 PM.

Guild Journeyer

How are you going to be using the maps? i.e. are you printing them on letter size paper? or A sized? Are you displaying them via a projector or on a TV screen?

Use the ration that goes with how you will be presenting them.

First, decide how you want to use the map. Then, pick an appropriate map projection. Then, draw your map(s) onto grids in whichever projection(s) you chose.