Thread: Building Skills With an Unnamed Region Map

Wip Building Skills With an Unnamed Region Map

Hello. I'm new to cartography and this is one of my first attempts at a region map using GIMP. I've played with brushes and the like before, but I find it hard to get the look I'm going for with the assets I can find, so I decided to build my own drawing skills. I started on this map late last night and stayed up all night tweaking it and trying to find a style I could accomplish that looks alright.

I'm primarily interested in black and white or greyscale maps at the moment. Everything on this map currently was accomplished with nothing but the paintbrush tool. GIMP is so much more capable than that, but I found a groove with this relatively simple approach and I'm kind of liking how it's turning out.

unnamedregion.png

Guild Novice

Hi, Krahel, and welcome. I used GIMP for a little bit, it's a nice tool. Took me a while to figure out where things were. There are some really nice tutorials for GIMP. One from OldGuy for realistic coastlines and Vandy has put a thread together containing tutorials in PDF format > https://www.cartographersguild.com/s...oastlines+gimp.

Keep up the good work. I'm still working on my map elements to find what I like best. It's a fun, relaxing adventure.

Quote Originally Posted by kozzie View Post
    Hi, Krahel, and welcome. I used GIMP for a little bit, it's a nice tool. Took me a while to figure out where things were. There are some really nice tutorials for GIMP. One from OldGuy for realistic coastlines and Vandy has put a thread together containing tutorials in PDF format > https://www.cartographersguild.com/s...oastlines+gimp.

Keep up the good work. I'm still working on my map elements to find what I like best. It's a fun, relaxing adventure.
    Thanks for the tips. I may use them in the future, but I actually already cranked out this map and another one in the mean time.

Speaking of which...

talmynnprovince.png